Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Remote BGC Library

A resource to all the remote resources available to Bard Graduate Center Students

Digitized Archives

Online Archives and Special Collections

 

If you need to consult archives or special collections, please email us at reference@bgc.bard.edu and we can guide you through the process of contacting an archive. Some institutions are re-opening their archives and special collections by appointment, and some will even do zoom sessions. Accessibility will vary by institution, but you can still reach out to archivists if you need to consult primary resources and archives. 

 

Searching Archives:

Worldcat.org

  • Search libraries worldwide and find the material you need in the location closest to you.
  • Worldcat links to all formats of materials, including archives and artist files.
  • Artist files are especially helpful for uncataloged ephemeral items

 

Archive Grid

www.archivegrid.org

  • Beta project from worldcat.org
  • Search archival material from over 1000 institutions around the world
  • Contains over 4 million records
  • Will link to digitized material, but most only connect you to finding aids

 

Europeana

http://www.europeana.eu/portal/en

  • Europeana provides one search for texts, videos, sound, and images from many European museums, archives, and libraries, It does not include collections outside of Europe, commercial projects, or websites.

 

Dissertation Reviews

http://dissertationreviews.org/

  • See the “Fresh from the archives” section for highlighted archives

 

Digital Public Library of America

https://dp.la/info/

  • The Digital Public Library of America contains digitized collections from American libraries, archives, and museums. The collection’s topics range from the written word, works of art and culture, records of America’s heritage, and scientific efforts.

 

American Memory from the Library of Congress

https://memory.loc.gov/

Digital collections- https://www.loc.gov/collections

  • Provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.

Archive-It

https://archive-it.org/

  • A web archiving service for collecting and accessing cultural heritage on the web. Includes many museums, universities and libraries from over 400 partner organizations in 48 U.S. states and 16 countries worldwide.

 

Internet Archive

https://archive.org

  • Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
  • Wayback Machine : digital archive of the World Wide Web and other information on the Internet.

 

NYPL Archives

 

NYPL Digital Collections

 

NYPL Picture Collection

  • A visual resource collection that contains over one million original prints, photographs, posters, postcards and illustrations from books, magazines and newspapers, classified into 12,000 subject headings. 
  • The Picture Collection has made more than 38,000 images available via NYPL’s Digital Gallery.

 

New York Historical Society

 

American Museum of Natural History

 

Columbia University Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library

Brooklyn Museum

Digital Collections from the Met

Archives of American Art

  • http://www.aaa.si.edu/collections
  • Archive of more than 20 million letters, diaries and scrapbooks of artists, dealers, and collectors; manuscripts of critics and scholars; business and financial records of museums, galleries, schools, and associations; photographs of art world figures and events; sketches and sketchbooks; rare printed material; film as well as audio and video recordings. It has the largest collection of oral histories anywhere on the subject of art.

History of Collecting in America (Frick) Archives Directory

Brooklyn Historical Society

  • Archives http://dlib.nyu.edu/findingaids/
  • BHS collects and preserves the most comprehensive collection of materials related to Brooklyn’s history and culture, with holdings of over 33,000 books, 1,600 archival collections, 1,200 oral history interviews, 50,000 photographs, 2,000 maps, 8,000 artifacts, and 300 paintings which document the commercial, residential, community, and civic development of the borough.

Cooper Hewitt, National Design Museum

Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT)

  • Special collections http://fitnyc.libguides.com/sparc
  • FIT’s Library includes books, periodicals, oral histories and designer scrapbooks, as well as unique manuscript collections including original designer sketches. Strength of the collection lies in American fashion design from the late 19th century through the 1970s, Broadway and Hollywood costume design and the history of NYC’s garment district.

New York University

  • The Tamiment Library and  Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives
    • http://www.nyu.edu/library/bobst/research/tam/
    • Tamiment’s collections document the history of radical politics: socialism, communism, anarchism, utopian experiments, the cultural left, the New Left, and the struggle for civil rights and civil liberties. It is the repository for the Archives of Irish America, the Abraham Lincoln Brigade Archives, and a growing Asian American labor collection.

Blue Mountain Project

  • http://bluemountain.princeton.edu/index.html
  • Digital repository of important, rare, and fragile texts that both chronicle and embody the emergence of cultural modernity in the West.
  • Blue Mountain Project is a digital thematic research collection of art, music and literary periodicals published between 1848, the year of the European Revolutions, and 1923 – a functional boundary for works presumed to be in the public domain.

The Getty Research Institute (GRI) - Special Collections

American Archive of Public Broadcasting

  • Biodiversity Heritage Library
    • http://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/
    • The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”