Skip to Main Content

Archives & Special Collections

Databases

Below are some databases that can be helpful starting points for finding special collections and archives. However, it is important to keep in mind that no database will capture everything, so it is good practice to approach your search from a few different angles.

  • ArchiveGrid
    • Searches over 7 million records describing archival and special collections materials from over 1,400 archives, libraries, museums, historical societies, and other repositories. 
  • Archives of American Art
    • Collects, preserves, and provides access to a wide range of primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America. 
  • Archives Directory for the History of Collecting in America 
    • Developed by the Frick's Center for the History of Collecting to help users find repositories that hold primary source material related to American collectors, dealers, agents, and advisors, from the 18th century to the present.
  • Archives Portal Europe
    • Provides access to information on archives about Europe held by thousands of cultural heritage institutions from more than 30 countries.
  • Digital Public Library of America
    • Connects users with open-access primary source material from a range of libraries, archives, and museums across the United States.
  • The Empire Archival Discovery Cooperative (EmpireADC) 
    • Facilitates access to archival collections in repositories across New York state. 
  • Europeana
    • Provides access to images, texts, audio and video recordings, and more from European museums, archives, and libraries.
  • Internet Archive
    • A free digital library with access to millions of resources, including some primary source material. It also hosts the Wayback Machine, a digitial archive of web-based content.
  • New York Heritage Digital Collections
  • NYPL Archives & Manuscripts Portal 
    • NYPL holds nearly 10,000 archival and manuscript collections comprising over 50,000 linear feet of material in nearly every format imaginable.
  • SNAC (Social Networks in Archival Context)
    • An international cooperative of archives, libraries, and museums that helps users find information about people and organizations represented in historical records. 
  • World Digital Library
    • An international digital library operated by UNESCO and the Library of Congress that brings together historically significant primary materials from cultures around the world, including rare books, manuscripts, maps, prints, photographs, films, recordings, and more.
  • Google search your subject + “finding aid” OR "papers" OR "collection"
    • Some finding aids only appear on the website of the organization where the materials are held, not aggregated discovery services.

Understanding Finding Aids

Archival collections are described in standardized documents called finding aids that detail the contents, organization, and size of a collection. Think of a finding aid as a table of contents to the archival collection, meant to help determine whether the materials may be relevant to your research.

Finding aids generally include the following sections:

  • Scope and Content Note: a brief description of the collection's provenance, date range of materials, and types of materials found within (correspondence, notebooks, receipts, etc). May also highlight significant materials from the collection.
  • Biographical/Historical Note: information about the person or organization who created the materials, including details about their historical context.
  • Container/Box List: the location of materials within a collection. Note: this may be needed for relaying which boxes and folders you wish to consult when making a research appointment.
  • Arrangement: a description of how the collection is organized.
  • Related Material: this may suggest materials related to the subject of the collection, either in the same repository or elsewhere.
  • Restrictions on Access or Use: a description of how materials may be accessed or reproduced by researchers. Though archives aim to preserve material for access and use, some sensitive materials may be restricted for reasons of preservation, personal privacy, or cultural protection.