Skip to Main Content

Archives & Special Collections Research

BGC Special Collections

The BGC Library’s Special Collections comprises rare books and periodicals; ephemera; BGC dissertations, theses, and qualifying papers; and BGC publications.

            

 

Rare books and periodicals

The rare books collection of over 700 volumes has grown alongside and in tandem with other collections since the library’s inception in 1993. Current strengths include:

  • 18th-, 19th-, and early 20th-century European and American decorative arts, design, textiles and fashion, and architecture, with a particular concentration around the turn of the century
  • Materials pertaining to various World’s Fairs in the late 19th and early 20th centuries
  • Exhibition and collection catalogs

BGC Archives

The BGC Archives serves as the institutional repository for the history of Bard Graduate Center. It collects, preserves, and provides access to materials documenting BGC’s exhibitions, academic and public programs. It also provides services to students, faculty, and staff including guidance in digital preservation and best practices for organizing departmental files. Collections in the archives include past exhibition records, institutional graphics, faculty papers, and digital publications.

Finding aids

Services for students, faculty, and staff

  • The archives provides guidance in digital preservation and records management. For help archiving your project or managing electronic files, contact the archivist.

Digital collections