Skip to Main Content

Research Services

For issues with the Folio library catalog, please fill out this form.

For support with printing, printers, or log-ins, email techsupport@bgc.bard.edu

What we offer

  • BGC Databases list
    • Note: For many of our databases, you will need to use the links from this page to ensure proper access. 
  • BGC Periodicals finder
    • Searches periodicals available both electronically and through the BGC library's print collections.
  • Folio, BGC's Library Catalog
    • The Catalog drop down includes links to full-text e-books.  Use the Format filter to limit results to online resources.
    • The Articles drop down searches and links to full-text journals, newspaper articles, e-books, citations, and images that are part of our EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) subscription (More information on Articles search).
      • Note: Not all our databases are searched in Folio. For this reason, the Articles search includes a button to run your search in another set of databases managed by ProQuest.
        • Screenshot of Folio Articles search tab, showing the ProQuest button.
  • Artstor
    • Includes images from BGC's Archives, Exhibitions, Study Collection, Visual Media Resources Collection, and the slide collection of the late glass scholar Paul Hollister.
    • To save and download images, you will need to register for an account.  Make sure to use our link to ensure proper access.
      • BGC's Artstor landing page, with the option to login to or register for an account at upper right.
    • Email Barb Elam, BGC's Digital Collections Metadata Librarian and Study Collection Manager, with any questions.
  • BGC digital projects, including online exhibitions.
  • Stevenson Library at Bard College
    • BGC has shared access to Bard College's electronic resources, including:
      • Databases,
      • Journals (requires login),
      • Digital Commons
        • Bard's Institutional Repository which gathers the College's research under one umbrella, including working papers, copies of published articles, conference papers, presentations, senior theses, and other works not published elsewhere.

Access

Access to our electronic resources differs depending on where you're viewing them from. 

From on campus, including West 86th Street and Bard Hall, you should have seamless access.

From off campus, you will be prompted to login with the same credentials you use to login to your BGC email account (use your full email address, including "@bgc.bard.edu").

Note: Some e-resources are managed by Bard College, meaning you will have to login through their system to view those, even from on site at BGC.

Troubleshooting

BGC Remote Access Login Error, username or password was incorrect

The most common cause for a rejected login is that your password has expired or your computer is caching an outdated or incorrect password.  Try logging in to your BGC email in a private or incognito browser window to see if the password works there.
  • If you are able to log in, you might need to reset your browser data to clear a cached credential or cookie (instructions).
  • If your password doesn't work, you can reset your password using the Self Service instructions below.